Time for a New Ironing Board Cover

Remember this picture?

Well, sometimes it isn’t until you look at something through different eyes that you realize how disgusting it really is. I was mortified that I had to share that dirty ironing board cover on my blog… (my kids use my iron for all sorts of projects and I love that they are creative, but really? That disgusting?)

I took it off the ironing board recently and threw it in the wash. Ya. You guessed it. It didn’t come out any cleaner, but it did come out with a couple of holes torn in it. Time to break down and make a new one.

I didn’t want to make it out of anything that I really loved knowing that it will probably just get ruined anyway. Thanks to my mother-in-law I have lots of random fabric that I never know what to do with. I picked this brown and yellow piece because maybe the dirt and stains from my kids projects won’t show up as easily and I can save face in cyberspace.

Here is a picture of the finished project. I zigzagged the edge and used skinny elastic to keep it snug around the ironing board. I hope it gets years of use before I have to make a new one. ;D

Enjoy the Dance ;D

Rebecca Rèe

Leave a Reply

