Chuck Norris: Upcycled!

Helped some girls in my church organization this month make some circle skirts. 😀 This got me so fired up that I had some brilliant ideas for one of my own girls at home. Remember that box of shirts that my husband had squirreled away in the garage? Well… I decided to see if I could make a few of them into circle skirts for my daughter. In order to make the circle skirts for the girls at church I used this tutorial from made, and this tutorial from iCandy handmade to help them make their skirts.

At home, while digging through the box I found a Jimi Hendrix t-shirt and decided to see what I could do with it. I didn’t know what it would turn out like and I hate to have pictures reminding me of a failure so I didnt take any. Gosh I wish I had. I really loved the way it turned out! Especially since his signature is right across the back in just the right spot! Can’t wait for her to get to wear this to school! Sorry that the pictures just don’t give it justice. It is dark in my world by 4 o’clock in the winter so the pictures turn out really warm from the lighting. Another side note: the only reason I used peaking sheers is because my kids ran off with my sewing scissors and I couldn’t find them. 😦 Kids!!

So here is a picture tutorial of another similar skirt I made with a Chuck Norris t-shirt… to make the pattern, use the information on icandy handmade first, and then look at made to find out how to do the mathematical part of the pattern. 😉 The major difference is remembering to subtract 2 from the waist measurement (rather then adding 2) because you are working with knit.

Step 1… make your pattern. This is actually the hardest part. Once you have this done the rest is a breeze. I used an old paper sack. If you are making a pattern for an older girl or an adult, then you may need to use butcher paper or some other larger paper.

Step 2… This is a little different then the other circle skirt patterns because they cut their fabric all in one piece. You can’t do that when using t-shirts… especially if you want the graphic to end up in the right spot. I wanted Chuck in the front so I cut him out first. Basically you will need four pieces of this pattern.

I got two pieces from the Norris shirt and two pieces from another black shirt of my husband’s.

Step 3… Take the waist measurement minus two inches… that is how long you want to cut the waistband. You want to make the waistband at least three inches thick, and because you fold over the waistband you want to double that measurement. I wanted the rest of the print to show up on the waistband, so I cut the waistband out of that section of the shirt.

Step 4… sew the four panels together to make one circle skirt.

Step 5… sew the waistband in a loop.

Step 6… press all the seams open.

Step 7… fold waistband in half right sides together and press.

Step 8… pin waistband to skirt top right sides together centering at front and back and sides.

Step 9… sew the waistband to the skirt, stretching the waistband to match with the skirt length.

Step 10… press the waistband open.

Step 11… top stitch the waistband seam down on the skirt.

Done!! You can hem the skirt if you want, and add lace like I did with the Hendrix skirt, but you can also leave it unhemmed. I kind of like the peaking shear edge on this one. I think Chuck would agree.

Don’t worry… once the kids are up I will have them give me back my sewing scissors so I can trim off the little thread ends. 😉

Enjoy the Dance ;D

Rebecca Rèe

2 thoughts on “Chuck Norris: Upcycled!

  1. I used to be recommended this web site by way of my cousin.
    I am not certain whether this post is written through him as nobody else understand such specific about my trouble.
    You’re amazing! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

