Dollies for Monkey and Cupcake


I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season! I know I did. I was busy crafting as usual (just couldn’t share because I didn’t want to spoil anyone’s Christmas) and I wanted to make something unforgettable for Monkey and Cupcake. I can’t go out and buy them all the wonderful things that I would like to due to the fact that I still have five kids at home who need clothes, food (go figure) and Christmas gifts as well. So, I decided to dig through my patterns and see what I could come up with. I have already made them hats (my usual standby specialty), so that was out of the question. My kids wanted to make zombies for them, but I convinced them that they were just a tad too young for zombies yet.

While digging I ran across a pattern for baby dolls that I had picked up when Monkey was just a tadpole and was going to make him one. I am not sure what happened but nothing was stopping me now, so I got right to work. I made two babies, one for each of my little cuties and then made them pajama pants in some coordinating fabric.

Image

Here they are in all their finished splendor. I loved the coordinating fabric on Cupcake’s baby’s bib. That was a last minute thought.

Image

Here are their matching PJs.

Image

Bummed I couldn’t be there to see them open them up. It is sad living so far away, but I hope they felt the love that went in to every stitch.

IMG_0110-3

If anyone is interested in making baby dolls for their little cuties, the pattern I used was Simplicity 2809 but I did make a few alterations. I painted the faces instead of embroidering them. Not because I have anything against embroidery (in fact I really love it). I just didn’t have enough time to embroider. I am quite pleased with the paint though. I thought it turned out rather nice. I also made a t-shirt for Monkey’s baby doll because I didn’t like any of the shirts that came with the pattern. Don’t ask me how I did it, I just winged it. So other than that, the pattern worked up great and I was happy I purchased it several years ago even though I didn’t use it. Don’t tell me I’m the only one that does that? I mean, who can resist those 10 patterns for 10 dollars sales at JoAnn? Not me!

So glad to have a few minutes to blog again, and I hope you are all merry and bright!

Enjoy the Dance! ;D

Rebecca Rèe

 

3 thoughts on “Dollies for Monkey and Cupcake

  1. You should be rich! Financially I mean. You’re very good at what you do. Well done. Glad it was a good Season for you. Look forward to other posts, as you have time.

Leave a Reply

