The Snowman

So one of my youngest children (Tater 12) loves to create. He loves to create so much that I find clay residue in my bathroom sink, chunks of clay stuck to my pots and pans in the kitchen sink, and bits and pieces of cut up everything all over the house. You can always tell where Tater has been because he has left parts of his creations trailing behind him.

Yes, I tend to lose patience with him because even though I am also a messy creator, I usually clean up after each of my creations before starting a new one. Not so with Tater.

One day this week I came home after a very rough day at work. I was tired, and I just wanted to be left alone. Tater came in (like he always does) with something he created between the hours that he gets home from school and I am not yet home from work. He always starts out, “Mom, want to see what I made?” and like a good mother I always look and ooh and ahh. (The oohs and ahhs aren’t very hard because his stuff is usually mind boggling for a boy his age. His stuff always has been since his beginning.)

This time was different however. It was a, “Mom, look what I made for you.” And from behind his back he pulls out a tiny snowman. It had snowed that day… not much, but just enough for him to think of me and make me my own tiny snowman, complete with miniature buttons. Looking at this little snowman, I know the time and effort it took to find everything he needed to make him just right.

IMG_0160-1

My tater. The one that leaves little messes everywhere he goes. I love that kid. Somehow, it’s days like these that make all those little messes okay. And I am thankful that I have allowed those little hands to make little messes his whole life growing up. Because if I hadn’t, I would have had a day like this one.

Enjoy the Dance ;D

Rebecca Rèe

3 thoughts on “The Snowman

Leave a Reply

