Mmmm… Monday: Good Morning Campers!

Good morning campers!

IMG_0424

Went backpacking this last weekend, and tried out a few new recipes that I created using the help of Montana Whole Health and Harmony House Foods. I ordered my Backpacking Kit from Harmony House through Amazon because I have Amazon Prime. (Don’t you just love Amazon Prime? It helps you spend your money so quickly because who can resist free shipping and getting it in two days?)

Harmony-House-foods-615x485

Then I ordered some dried shiitake mushrooms from the same company.

I decided that I would try out two new meals: Carrot Cake Oatmeal and Chicken Chow Mein.

I of course made alterations depending on what I had on hand, but here are the recipes below. I will try and remember my alterations and share them as well.

Carrot Cake Oatmeal 

IMG_0425

– 1/2 c GF oats (Bob’s Red Mill has certified GF oats), whirled in blender until 1/3 of original size.
– 2 tbs dried carrot, also whirled in a blender until it approximates shredded carrot.  (I used Harmony House Foods for my dried vegetables.) 
– 2 tbs raisins or other dried fruit
– 1 tbs dried coconut milk (a wonderful find on Amazon!)
– 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
– salt to taste (1/8 tsp)

In campground: add boiling water to cover, stir well, let sit tightly for 5 minutes.  Reheat if necessary. Serves 1-2.

NOTE: I didn’t have any dried coconut milk, and so I used powdered milk instead. I found out that covering the mixture took about 1/2 -3/4 cups of water… just in case you are like me and want it to turn out the same every time. I also brought along some powdered milk and made milk with fresh filtered glacier water. The best!

Chicken Chow Mein

photo

– 1 cup rice noodles, broken in 1/3′s (use thin noodles for fast cooking)
– 1 7-oz pouch canned chicken
– 3 tbs dried shiitake mushrooms
– 2 tbs dried mixed vegetables
– 1 tsp GF chicken of vegetable bouillon (this can be tricky to find, I ended up using a vegan bouillon).
– 1 tsp garlic powder
– 1 tsp ginger powder
– crushed red pepper to taste, OR sliced dried hot pepper (like you find in Mexican markets).

In camp: bring 1 1/2 cups water to boil, add noodles and vegetables, simmer until noodles are cooked.  Add chicken and heat through before serving.  Serves 2.

NOTE: I couldn’t ever find a pouch of chicken, so I just took a can with a pull top, which means I also had to pack the can out instead of a pouch. Takes up a little more space, but it’s all good. I’ll see if I can find some pouches for next time. Oh… and I ate the whole thing myself. I was hungry! No judging. 😀

Finding Harmony House and Montana Whole Health helped me not be so worried about how I am going to eat on my backpacking trips. Honestly, these meals taste better then the pouch any day! I had people wishing that they had made their own meals as well! For more recipes click here.

I can’t wait to try out all the rest of the recipes. Now get out there and show ’em how it’s done!

Enjoy the Dance! ;D

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

