Tutorial Tuesday: How to weight your blanket.

Another Tuesday and I am so busy with camping and hiking and sleeping ๐Ÿ˜‰ that I don’t have time to be creative. I thought I would share the weighted blanket tutorials that I found while trying to figure out how to weight Tater’s blanket. Now that he is older, I don’t feel like he needs his blanket as weighted as they say (10% of your body weight plus 1 pound) because he has become a big boy and that would mean his blanket would need to be 14 pounds. I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to haul a blanket that heavy on trips, and he even suggested that his blanket need only weight about five or so pounds. So we are going with that.

Now that we have the top finished, the rest of the steps are as follows.

IMG_0413

  1. Make the backing for the blanket at least 3 inches wider on each side.
  2. Make the batting the same size as the backing.
  3. Safety pin the layers together starting from the center and working your way out.
  4. Sew the vertical columns about 4ish inches apart from each other. I am going to use a walking foot for the first time, so we’ll see how that goes!
  5. Sew one horizontal seam and put about 1/4 cup pellets in each column. (We probably will evenly distribute the pellets for the weight that we want and how many squares we have. You might need to do the same depending on the size of your quilt. It’s gonna take some math. ๐Ÿ˜‰ )
  6. Sew another horizontal seam and repeat above. Continue with this method until you have all your pellet pockets filled and sewn.

in-progress-held-up

Image from Kate’s Quilting Corner

41e4cvPR4UL._SY355_7. ย Trim your edges to match and make your bias tape for your binding. I found my bias tape maker on Amazon. Make sure to buy a 2 inch bias tape maker for making quilt binding. For a good tutorial on making and sewing bias tape visit Dana Made It.

8. After making the tape, use the tutorial to help you sew the bias tape correctly around the quilt.

I am so excited to get this quilt hammered out, and I can tell you that Tater feels the same. He can’t wait to take it on an adventure with him. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Here are the tutorials that I used to plan out my steps.

Quality Poly Pellets

Kates Quilting Corner

Mama Smiles

Now get started on your own weighted blanket! Maybe I should have done a baby one first? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Nah! Go big or go home. That’s my motto!

Enjoy the Dance ;D

Rebecca

Leave a Reply

