It is Finished!!

After almost 24 hours of work, Tater’s new “B” is finally finished. I learned a lot doing this project. As this was only the second quilt I have finished in my life, I feel a great sense of accomplishment. Especially since the last one was Tater’s first “B” finished over ten years ago. A lot has changed in the quilting world sense then, and my ability to buy new toys has definitely helped me in the quilting department.

Here are some new things I learned along the way that I had never done before:

1. I learned how to weight a blanket with poly pellets. It definately gave my arms and legs a workout as I tried to get all those pellets to slide into the next pocket… not to mention holding it up on the table so it wouldn’t slide off while sewing the next horizontal line.

IMG_0435

2. I learned how to use a walking foot. I fell in love right away! So much fun and so easy to keep all those layers moving forward at the same time. Yes, there were a few hiccups, but it was my first time. Aren’t there always complications the first time? πŸ˜‰

IMG_0433

3. When I was small, I remember my mom making bias tape and I thought it resembled something Hades would make you do in the Underworld after you died. She would carefully press each of the sides in toward the middle. There were some choice words and a few burnt fingertips for sure. I swore I would never work with bias tape… and I have avoided it all these years. Seriously. After yesterday I can honestly say I am addicted to making bias tape and I can’t wait to make more. I have got to think up some projects that use bias tape! Bathrobes for the grandkids made from towels, coming right up!

IMG_0438

4. I also learned how to sew on bias tape without making a mess of it. Thank you again walking foot for your part in this endeavor. I love the way the homemade bias tape looks. No more boring store bought stuff for me!

IMG_0441

5. Most of all I learned how good it felt to complete a longer, more involved project. Usually I don’t have time to take on big projects. (Thus the reason it took me 10 years to make Tater another blanket. Thank goodness store bought will do for the rest of the kiddos.) But this actually felt really good. I couldn’t help but run around and show everyone in the house that would look. I feel like a proud mama that just gave birth… to an eight pound quilt. πŸ˜‰

IMG_0445

Things I might do differently next time:

1. Never make another weighted blanket so big. I think love was the only thing that kept me going at times.

2. If I am going to make a weighted blanket again, I would go buy the fabric that is already printed to look like a quilt. Those stubborn pellets kept wanted to get caught in all the seams. Finally, I just let them get caught and pushed them out of the way of the needle while I sewed the next seam in place.

IMG_0443

All in all, I am quite happy with this “little” quilt adventure. From ordering my fabric online, to learning new skills, I am one delighted crafter.

Enjoy the Dance ;D

Rebecca

5 thoughts on “It is Finished!!

  1. It’s a beaut!! Congratulations on a job well done! I’m oh so tempted to do one myself but I honestly don’t think I have the patience. It’s surely a labour of love. I’m sure Tata loves it and you.

Leave a Reply

