Mmmm… Monday: Paleo BLT Salad

I think any time you attend a function that has food, and your diet isn’t the norm, you are going to have difficulties. If you can learn to just accept that ahead of time, things won’t seem as tricky.

One of the hardest things at my family reunion was that all the food being served was food that I really loved and could eat before going paleo. My sister-in-law even made sure it was all gluten free! She is the best!! The hardest night was the night I was assigned to help with dinner. My mom and I were fixing a dish called beans and bacon. Cooked pinto beans topped with mayonnaise lettuce, bacon crumbles, drizzled bacon grease, mustard, and onions… It is a traditional Dutch meal (Sorry, I don’t know the Dutch name for it.) that my dad loved. I loved that meal! And I felt kind of connected to it… emotionally. But I stayed strong, and I even walked away with a meal I can cook that is paleo and yummy. Paleo BLT Salad.

Basically, take out the beans, add some tomatoes, avocado, and voila! You have a yummy simple, easy, quick, paleo meal. 🙂DSC_0094

 

Start by cooking the bacon. I like to cook mine on a foil lined sheet in the oven at 425 or so for about 10-15 minutes or until done. My oven is spastic, so times and temps always vary. I think I mentioned I need a new one… You can even cook the bacon in the morning while doing breakfast and then save some for dinner. I would cook at least two pieces for each person. I mean, who doesn’t love bacon? We don’t want any fights over this dinner. 🙂

Next, you are going to want to make your own mayo. My favorite recipe can be found at nomnompaleo.com. Simple and easy. It’s even hard for me to mess up.

Slice your lettuce, slice or dice your tomatoes, and avocados. I place mine in bowls so people can choose what to have on their salad.

Right before serving, mix in enough mayonnaise to cover your lettuce like salad dressing.

DSC_0091

You’re ready to eat. Grab a bowl and fill it up. 🙂 The first bowl contains bacon grease incase you were wondering. I know it seems gross, but don’t knock it until you try it. And if you are worried about saturated fat… don’t. Read up on studies about that, and learn that high cholesterol has nothing to do with animal fat, but that’s a whole other post in itself.

Enjoy the Dance ;D

Rebecca Rèe

 

 

 

One thought on “Mmmm… Monday: Paleo BLT Salad

Leave a Reply

