When your life just keeps throwing curveballs…

Hi friends!

You know, I made this realization recently with all of the excitement in my life, that there is no normal… You can never say, “I wish my life would just get back to normal,” because there is no normal. Normal is an illusion. You can get to a point where your life will feel normal, because you have gotten used to the trials and curveballs in your life to the point where nothing is pushing you out of your comfort zone enough to feel “not normal”.

Lately, I have been pushed out of my comfort zone so much that “not normal” is starting to feel like normal. My husband’s illness just continues to stump everyone, and I am left picking up the pieces he normally would pick up while we try to figure out what is going on and why his body is not responding to treatment. I started a new position in my school district (learning coach) that has pushed me right out of my comfort zone. I moved into a wonderful old house and am enjoying renodeling (a mash up of renovating and remodeling) which I don’t really have time for but is amazing all the same. My family just keeps growing, even though my family at home is shrinking… grandbaby number four is on her way! I find myself thrown into new roles daily. Asked to do new things that I haven’t really done before. One day, this is all going to feel “normal”.

When I look back on my life (husband gone overseas for long periods of time, going back to school with two children and having number three and four while going to school, virtually living as a single mom for years on end) I think to myself, how did you do it? I think it was simply because I accepted it as the new normal. I didn’t look around and compare my lot in life with others around me. I accepted it for what it was, I did the best I could do with what I had, and I kept moving forward.

Maybe that’s the message for today. Accept your situation for what it is, don’t compare your life with others around you, do the best with what you have (that’s creativity at it’s basic level) and keep moving forward!

I’m gonna take my own advice today… thanks for being my sounding board everyone.

Enjoy the Dance! ;D

Rebecca Rèe

2 thoughts on “When your life just keeps throwing curveballs…

  1. I’m going through such a phase right now as well. I found I’m rather good at throwing curved balls myself with surprising results. I’m not sure Life doesn’t respect a good argument back sometimes.

Leave a Reply

