Blue doors and other painted stuff…

Hi Friends,

So it’s been a long time since I have shared something that I have been up to at home. It has been a whirlwind these last few months. We moved into a really swell (keen, nobby, smooth, or some other 1930s slang for great) 1930s farmhouse back in April and we have been working hard getting it togged to the bricks. So in between doctor appointments for hubs and teaching school and landing my new gig as a learning coach and being a wife and mama I have been working like a dog. Needless to say I am joed! But today, I feel like I can say I am finally seeing a difference in the kitchen.

After five layers of wallpaper have been scraped, unsolved mysteries have been found (Why is that pink and turquoise paint there? A piece of plywood right in the middle of the wall? Huh?) and multiple coats of paint have been applied, I can finally say it’s getting there. I would have taken more pictures along the way, but I am a messy painter for sure! I don’t trust my paint covered hands to get anywhere near my camera during the process. (Anyone else choke up on their paintbrush like they are playing ball? I feel like that’s how I have the best control.) But… I do have a really smooth before and after picture to show you today at least.

Here is the kitchen front door when I met it for the first time:

DSC_0793 (1)

Here is the door now… and the surrounding walls after scraping and scraping and painting and painting:

DSC_0007

I’m really starting to get sweet on this place! Now the molding, and we need to do something about that floor… don’t ya think? And one day… the cabinets.

Enjoy the Dance! ;D

Rebecca Rèe

7 thoughts on “Blue doors and other painted stuff…

  1. Can’t believe it’s the same place! Love working on things myself as well. Felt a bit out of things, lost a bit of heart, but I’m going to use this as inspiration to get back into my own redecorating.

    • Glad my post inspired you. 🙂 I know how it feels to be in a funk. Accomplishing something, even as little as a blue door, always makes me feel better. It’s amazing how a little paint can go a long way!

      • I never thought I would appreciate small accomplishments, but did a bit of gardening today and feel really smug. There’s always this whole push and pull going on with me: I want to paint a picture, I want to mow the lawn, I want to go for a walk, I want to finish the kitchen, I want to just sit, I want to …. that I often end up playing solitaire on the computer because I can’t choose what I want to do first! All of it so very important (except playing games). 🙂

        • Ha ha! We sound a lot alike. I’ve found that if I make a list of all the things I want to accomplish, that helps. When I wake up in the morning I look at my list and decide what I’m in the mood for. It helps me stay focused. 🙂

          • Started doing exactly just that! Had such upheavals the last two years, it’s a wonder I get to do anything at all! Things ought to start calming down. Up to me I suppose what I allow to upset me and what not. Takes strength sometimes.

Leave a Reply

