New Year’s Resolution

o-new-years-resolutions-facebookIt’s that time of year again. That time when you start thinking about how your year has gone and what you want to change about your life in the year to come. Each year for years in a row I have made several goals and always fallen short. That’s when a couple of years ago I changed my New Year’s Resolution philosophy.

One word. Keep it simple. One word to change my life for the year to come. In 2014 it was kindness. I decided to do one act of kindness each day and keep a journal. The journal slowed down by the end of the year, but the kind acts did not. I found so much joy in it! I kept my ears open and tried to do everything within my means to make other’s lives better. I never missed a day. It was my most successful goal so far yet!

In 2015 I decided my word would be Thankful. Josh Groban (thanks Josh!) inspired that word one day while I was listening to his beautiful song Thankful. I even set the song as my alarm clock to remind me to be thankful for what I had. The year has been challenging, but through it all I remained grateful for all I had, and it’s amazing the doors that can open when you keep your mind focused on all you have, rather than on all you don’t.

What about 2016? I’m not so sure. I have made a lot of changes in my life over the past year or so. I have been evolving. Becoming a stronger version of myself. But you know… sometimes I just want to run away from the difficult things. I wish people could see me for who I am. To realize that even when I am defending what I know to be right, that I am doing it because I care. Not because I am being difficult. So this year, I think that I want to be Brave. (Yes, thanks again Josh!) I want to say what I want to say in a kind but firm way. To quit worrying so much about what people think of me, and to worry more about what I think of myself. To be true to me. To not cower when subjects get difficult or tense. To use my insight to diffuse a difficult situation while still saying what I know is right. To truly be me. Pretty hard for a natural introvert who would much rather be sitting in her house, crocheting away and letting the world happen around me. Brave. It’s gonna be a hard year. But you know, maybe I’ll come out on the other end of 2016 better for it. Wish me luck!

Enjoy the Dance! ;D

Rebecca Rèe

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution

Leave a Reply

