The Constant Chore Battle

I don’t know about you, but in my house, there is a constant battle to get my kids to do chores. They get bored easily, and my youngest child (now 14) asked me if she could please go get a job so that she could pay to get me a house keeper because she hated cleaning that much. What’s a mother to do?

I finally decided to create a job chart that would allow my children to do chores on a first come first serve basis. My chore board will be split into six sections with daily, weekly, and monthly chore magnets on the left, and three empty boxes on the right where they can move the magnet when they are done with the chore. Hopefully this will help them be motivated to do their chores early so that they can do the chores they hate the least. Here’s hopin’.

I’m sharing my PDF version of these icons so that you can use them if you want. They took some time to create using The Noun Project and a Google Doc, so I thought sharing them out would be nice. Use the ones you like, and leave the rest. Depending on your child’s age, some of these chores might not be age appropriate, but my kids are all teenagers and young adults, so they can do just about anything.

screenshot-2016-11-26-at-2-38-05-pm

Once I get them all cut out and laminated, I will share my new chore board with you.

Enjoy the Dance! ;D

Rebecca Rèe

Featured Image by Geoffrey Whiteway
Leave a Reply

